Fired‚ moved and safe: These are the ministers hit by Zuma’s swinging axe

President Jacob Zuma effected his latest Cabinet reshuffle on Thursday; a merry-go-round that saw no less than 10 changes to his ministers alone.

In the biggest move‚ finance minister Pravin Gordhan was axed and replaced by Malusi Gigaba‚ formerly the home affairs head honcho.

Zuma also fired Tina Joemat-Petterson and replaced her with ANC MP Mmamoloko Nkhensani Kubayi as energy minister. Kubayi was an ANC proportional representative councillor in Johannesburg from 2006 to 2009‚ and also the chairperson of portfolio committee on transport during the same period. She also served in the ANC Youth League‚ as a Provincial Executive Council (PEC) member in Gauteng.

Dipuo Peters got the chop from the transport minister’s post and was replaced by an ANC PEC member from Limpopo‚ Joe Maswanganyi. In 2015 he was moved from the Limpopo executive and sent to parliament. At the time he was touted for a cabinet position.

Public service and administration minister Ngoako was axed and replaced with Faith Muthambi. Muthambi was replaced in communications by Ayanda Dlodlo‚ who served as Ramathlodi’s deputy. Derek Hanekom has been fired from the tourism portfolio and replaced by his deputy‚ Thoko Xasa.

Despite being at the helm of the social grants payment debacle‚ Bathabile Dlamini survived Zuma’s latest axe swinging.

In a statement issued after midnight‚ Zuma said: “I have decided to make changes to the National Executive in order to improve efficiency and effectiveness. The changes bring some younger MPs and women into the National Executive in order to benefit from their energy‚ experience and expertise. I have directed the new Ministers and Deputy Ministers to work tirelessly with their colleagues to bring about radical socio-economic transformation and to ensure that the promise of a better life for the poor and the working class becomes a reality.”

Here’s an easy-to-understand list of who got chopped‚ who got shifted and who will be breathing a sigh of relief this morning:


Energy — Tina Joemat-Pettersson‚ FIRED and REPLACED by Mmamoloko “Nkhensani” Kubayi

Finance — Pravin Gordhan‚ FIRED and REPLACED by Malusi Gigaba

Public Service and Administration — Ngoako Ramatlhodi FIRED and REPLACED by Faith Muthambi

Tourism — Derek Hanekom‚ FIRED and REPLACED by Tokozile Xasa

Transport — Dipuo Peters‚ FIRED and REPLACED by Joe Maswanganyi


Communications — Faith Muthambi‚ REPLACED by Ayanda Dlodlo and MOVED to Public Service and Administration

Home Affairs — Malusi Gigaba‚ REPLACED by Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize and MOVED to Finance

Public Works — Thembelani Nxesi‚ REPLACED BY Nathi Nhleko and MOVED to Sports and Recreation

Police — Nathi Nhleko‚ REPLACED by Fikile Mbalula and MOVED to Public Works

Sports and Recreation — Fikile Mbalula‚ REPLACED by Thembelani Nxesi and MOVED to Police


Health — Aaron Motsoaledi

Basic Education — Angie Motshekga

Social Development — Bathabile Dlamini

Higher Education – Blade Nzimande

State security — David Mahlobo

Cooperative Governance — Des van Rooyen

Economic Development — Ebrahim Patel

Environmental Affairs — Edna Molewa

Rural Development — Gugile Nkwinti

Planning‚ Monitoring and Development — Jeff Radebe

Human Settlements — Lindiwe Sisulu

Public Enterprises — Lynne Brown

International Relations — Maite Nkoana-Mashabane

Justice — Michael Masutha

Labour — Mildred Oliphant

Mineral Resources — Mosebenzi Zwane

Science and Technology — Naledi Pandor

Arts and Culture — Nathi Mthethwa

Water and Sanitation — Nomvula Mokonyane

Defence — Nosiziwe Mapisa-Nqakula

Trade and Industry — Rob Davies

Agriculture‚ Fisheries and Forestry — Senzeni Zokwana

Telecommunication and Postal Services — Siyabonga Cwele

Women in the Presidency — Susan Shabangu